Superfood South-Asian Salmon

DSCF6063[1]

I’m trying to ‘eat clean’ at the moment. I put in my hours in the gym and with 70% of health being down to diet, sadly exercise alone just doesn’t cut it anymore. The Clean & Lean way of eating is not a diet per se, but a lifestyle choice to only eat whole foods – if what you’re about to put in your mouth doesn’t bear any resemblance to it’s natural, original self, drop it quicker than an overloaded barbell (ie. crisps…not looking so much like a potato once they come out of a Walkers packet). That means no refined carbs or sugar, which is my key motivation but also my king pariah.

My sugar addiction has become the butt of office jokes. For 95% of the day I have a cake/biscuit/chocolate bar glued to my hand. I even eat in lessons. And I’m the teacher. Busting a gut in the gym has made me feel completely revitalised and full of energy. But a pricey membership that entirely contradicts my comfort based diet of stodgy carbs and sugar has been weighing my mind down as well as my thighs. So while I’ll never give up my favourite meals or deserts, I want to enjoy them occasionally, rather than eating a Starbucks Cinnamon Swirl for breakfast ever day (no really..).

This is a delicious way to get started. There are absolutely no nasties in this recipe whatsoever and the flavours are clean, fresh and invigorating.

 

Adapted from James Duigan’s Clean & Lean Recipe BookServes 2:

  • 2in piece ginger peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic peeled and finely sliced
  • 4 spring onions finely sliced into strips
  • 1 red chilli finely sliced
  • 2 salmon fillets
  • juice of 1/2 lime plus
  • 1/2 lime thinly sliced
  1. You will need 2 sheets of baking paper, about 30cm · 12in square (or large enough to fold over the salmon and form a parcel). Preheat the oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6.
  2. Mix the ginger, garlic, spring onions and chilli together in a bowl.
  3. Place each piece of salmon in the middle of a sheet of baking paper and top with a quarter of the ginger mixture. Sprinkle each fillet with lime juice and then top with a few slices of lime.
  4. Fold the paper over each fillet and tuck the edges in to form a parcel. Place the parcels on a baking tray and bake for around 12-15 minutes or until done to your liking.

Serve with a pile of fresh green stir-fried vegetables – packed with vitamins that help to replenish a stressed body. I like Sainbury’s Stir Fry packs for ease and speed.

DSCF6060[1]

4 thoughts on “Superfood South-Asian Salmon

    • It’s great, I have to say I have tons more energy and I’m not slumping at 3pm! Craving sugar & cake like mad but I heard that goes after a while…still, will allow myself 1-2 treat days a week I think..I’m a food blogger after all 🙂

Leave a Reply

